jump to navigation

The State of Dell E510 July 20, 2008

Posted by Daniel Downs in business, news.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

My 2 year old Dell E-510 stopped working right in June. According to a growing number of no-longer satisfied Dell customers, my slightly used computer stopped working on-time. All E510s apparently break-down within a 15 to
24 month period. I was blessed because my computer gradually bit-the-dust giving me time to search the net.

What I discovered is the made-in-China Model A00 power supply was engineered to break-down shortly after warranty expired. Other unfortunates have experienced additional problems. Nevertheless, the common denominator is “an infected within the pre-engineered limited life of 24 months disease” characteristic of many other diseased products coming out of China.

This seems to conform to the big-three auto makers historical philosophy of creating consumer demand.

My dinousaur Gatewayous486 was used nearly 24/7 for over 8 years never required any repair whatsoever with the only exceptions being software issue of my own making. My ancient computer is proof that evolution is not reliable. In fact, my Dell is proof that evolution is the path of obsolescence not progress. That is, I suspect Dell may find itself among the relics of business history.

I say that because Dell doesn’t like to admit their product was pre-engineered to fail within one year after warranty. They don’t like the idea of a product recall for good reason: recalls eat up profits. So does admit the planned obsolescence of the E510. Heck, all manufacturers of technological products are guilty. If retail and business consumers all kept using the same computers and software for 10 years or more technology would not be relatively cheap or those businesses would not exist for long.

Oddly enough, as soon as I had learned why I was having difficulty with booting up my Dell E510, it ceased to boot up at all.

I’m somewhat of a skeptic. I had been perusing the Dell self-help website the night before my E510 ceased to work at all. Needless to say, I was tempted to think that Dell had discovered my discovery of the complaints to the BBB and their quick response to send replacement only to those who were able to contact by phone or by their online mediator. I was planning to contact Dell and several attorney generals office–one in Texas, Ohio, and Washington, DC to make this problem known.

Because I needed my computer running, I picked up a standard AT power supply for $30 at 5 O’Clock Computers on my way home from work. 5 O’Clock Computers business hours are M-F 8AM to 6PM and Sat. 10AM to 4 PM. Go figure. My E510 boot up immediately and is amazingly still working. I was worried because it too was made in China. So, maybe in 2 years I will have to replace it again.

I still think I should contact Dell and the Attorney Generals office to complain. What do you think? Should I be tolerant? Should I accept the after-warranty blues? Should I attempt to get the government to make Dell own up to it massive problem? (E510 is budget model with many owners all over the nation.)

Comments»

1. Anonymous - September 21, 2008

make them pay for what they did! mine just broke and i’m just going into to college so every buck counts, just threw a huge amount of $$ away on books so i don’t got money lying around to fix a computer that they knew was going to break.


Leave a Reply

